First Assembly Church Gulfport

Home  Prayer Request 

About Us

First Assembly Church Gulfport is a Christian congregation serving the local community and seeking, engaging, and encouraging others through a life-changing Christian journey.

First Assembly seeks to be a loving, friendly church body that worships God and serves others.  We place a high priority on teaching from the Bible and following the example of Jesus Christ.

Our vision is to impact and renew Gulfport and beyond with the transforming message of Jesus Christ through words and actions.  Everyone is welcome.  Come as you are - we would love to get to know you!

Originally named Gulfport Assembly of God Church.
Incorporated in 1972 as First Assembly of God Church of Gulfport, Inc.

[Under Construction]

The church began meetings in homes, then met in the old fire hall on Hwy. 49 and also held meetings in tents. In 1921 a building was raised at Hwy. 49 and Pass Road. Year 1927 saw a second building constructed facing Pass Road where Popeye's restaurant now sits.  The present church building located at 2600 22nd Avenue was built and occupied in 1975 with a sanctuary seating approximately 500.

The present facilities had suffered major damage sustained in 1998 by Hurricane Georges and again in 2005 by Hurricane Katrina.  Restoration was completed after both storms under the supervision of Pastor Norwood Seymour Sr.  The aftermath of Katrina quickly utilized spaces in the facilities as a temporary shelter, a local medical clinic and a food distribution base for incoming national rescue teams.

"A Light of Gulfport Since 1921"

Since its beginning the church has had eighteen pastors in 98 years.

The church will celebrate it's 100th Anniversary in 2021 

1921-1924  W. L. Kinsey

1924-19      W. B. Jessup

19   - 1927  Charles Edwards

1927-1943  W. L. Kinsey

1943-1945  Charles S. Craighead

1945-1949  Donald J. McKinney

1949-1951  Virgil Whitmire

1951-1957  Jeff Gibbs

1957-1961  Woodrow Oxner

1961-1971  Eugene H. Hassler

1971-1976  Leonard Sapp

1976-1982  Eugene H. Hassler

1982-1988  Sammy Hayes

1988-1991  Gene Emswiler

1991-1993  Steven Bursey

1993-1995  Jesse Laney

1996-1997  Lavern Rogers

1997-1998  David Freeman

1998- Now  Norwood Seymour Sr.